2018 Annual Member Meeting Minutes

September 8, 2018

Pursuant to notice thereof, the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Plumas-Sierra Rural Electric Cooperative was held at Portola, California, at the Portola office premises. The meeting was called to order at 12:30 p.m. by Board of Directors President, Dave Roberti. Thereafter, the following proceedings were held:

Pastor Tony Loubet delivered the invocation. The American Legion Color Guard placed the flags and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Roberti, along with the playing of the national anthem by the Portola High School Band.

Roberti introduced the board of directors, General Manager Robert Marshall and Corporate Attorney Mike Vergara. Marshall thanked the Las Plumas 4-H, Eastern Plumas Health Care, the Portola High School soccer and volleyball teams, and all other organizations for their help with the annual meeting.

Marshall introduced the special guests who were present and informed the members of the dedication of the Daniel E. Kenney Memorial Fiber Optic Node. He also introduced Sonja Anderson, regional manager of the Western Area Power Administration; Randy Howard, general manager of the Northern California Power Agency; and Jackie Coombs, manager of corporate relations for Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems.

Anderson and Howard reported on current hydro conditions. They reported on legislative issues all utilities will face and their impacts on the industry. Both speakers talked about the recent wildfires and the impacts to utilities. Coombs discussed the advantages of being a project based energy provider, and options for Plumas-Sierra to participate in.

The annual business meeting was called to order by Roberti at 1:12 p.m. Roberti introduced the cooperative’s attorney, Mike Vergara. He turned the meeting over to Vergara, who presided over the business meeting.

A quorum was determined to be present, with 627 registered ballots. Vergara asked for a motion to waive the reading of the minutes of the previous year’s meeting. The reading was so waived. It was moved and seconded to approve the minutes of the 2017 annual meeting. The minutes were approved.

Vergara introduced members of the nominating committee: Chairman Tom Connolly, Vice Chairwoman Alice Parlier and committee members Jan Tew, Pam Pasquetti, Tim Garrod, Janell Newton and Danielle Schwab.

Connolly gave the Nominating Committee’s report. Vergara opened the floor for nominations for Districts 1, 3 and 4. As there were no nominations from the floor, the nominations were closed. The candidates nominated were Sean Harris, District 1; Lawrence Price, District 1; Richard Whitsell, District 1; Fred Nelson, District 3; and Dave Roberti, District 4.

Price gave a short speech on the virtues of being a co-op member. Whitsell thanked the board for consideration of becoming a director. Nelson spoke of many PSREC and PST projects and their benefits. Roberti thanked the community for their support of the co-op.

Vergara introduced the Credentials and Election Committee: Caroline Keeler, Bill Keese and Suzie Steele.

Vergara asked for any ballots that had not been received yet. The Credentials Committee adjourned to do a final ballot count.

Roberti thanked the youth for volunteering to help with this year’s meeting. He discussed challenges the co-op faced last year. He also spoke about past director Kenney and his service to the board. Roberti also discussed the regulations that the co-op will be addressing as well as upcoming projects.

Roberti recognized Plumas-Sierra’s staff for their hard work and thanked the membership for attending the meeting.

Roberti then turned the meeting over to Marshall.

Marshall reported on legislative issues that the co-op will face and steps being taken to manage these issues. He discussed the Army solar and community solar projects.

Marshall introduced new Chief Financial Officer, Bill Newberg to the membership.

Marshall reported on improvements to our electrical system and improvements to broadband for the members.

Marshall then introduced Director David Hansen, who reviewed the treasurer’s report. He also discussed the positive effect of broadband to the membership. Hansen asked for a motion to waive the reading of the treasurer’s report and financials, which were published in Ruralite. The reading was so waived and the treasurer’s report was approved.

The floor was open to members for a Q&A session.

The Credentials and Elections Committee verified the count of ballots and confirmed election of the candidates. Vergara announced the election results: District 1, Price with 253 votes; District 3, Nelson with 543 votes; and District 4, Roberti with 523 votes.

Door prize and survey winners were drawn.

Marshall recognized the cooperative’s member services staff for all their hard work on the annual meeting. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2 p.m.